Executive officers

The day-to-day work of SCRR is carried out by two officers, the Scientific Director and Secretary/Treasurer, appointed by the board. These appointments are reviewed each year and renewed as appropriate.


Prof Sarah Skerratt

Scientific Director

Sarah was director of policy engagement at SRUC and is now director of programmes at the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Lyndsey Hayes Headshot

Lyndsey Hayes


Lyndsey is Administrator for the Global Academy of Agriculture and Food Security at the University of Edinburgh.

Main board

SCRR is managed by a board with directors from each of the member institutions. The board meets twice a year and is chaired by a senior member of the University of Edinburgh nominated by the University Court.

The officers are guided in their duties by the executive committee, which meets about five times a year.

Professor Jonathan Seckl

Chair, main board

Professor of Molecular Medicine, Centre for Cardiovascular Science, Queen’s Medical Research Institute, Edinburgh

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, chaired by Professor Geoff Simm, meets about six times a year. Its main role is to guide the officers of SCRR in their duties.

Professor Geoff Simm

Chair, Executive Committee

Director of the Global Academy of Agriculture and Food Security, The University of Edinburgh

Dr Nick Fraser

Executive Committee Member

Keeper of Natural Sciences, National Museums of Scotland
Chambers Street, Edinburgh EH1 1JF

Prof Karen Halliday

Executive Committee Member

Dean for Systematic Inclusion

School of Biological Sciences, University of Edinburgh, 
Mayfield Road

Prof Pete Hollingsworth

Executive Committee Member

Director of Science, Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, 20a Inverleith Row, Edinburgh EH3 5LR

Prof David Hopkins

Executive Committee Member

Dean of Faculty – Central, SRUC

Prof Lee Innes

Executive Committee Member

Principal Scientist and Director of Communications, Moredun Research Institute
Pentlands Science Park, Bush Loan, Penicuik, Midlothian EH26 0PZ

Prof David Miller

Executive Committee Member

Knowledge Exchange Coordinator, James Hutton Institute, 
Craigiebuckler, Aberdeen AB15 8QH;

Dr Tracy Shimmield

Executive Committee Member

Director, Lyell Centre 
BGS Edinburgh, Currie EH14 4BA

Dr Kathy Velander

Executive Committee Member

Reader and Director, Centre for Ecotourism and Wildlife Management
Institute for Science and Health Innovation, Edinburgh Napier University, Edinburgh EH11 4BN

Des Thompson col 2

Prof Des Thompson

Executive Committee Member​

Principal Adviser Science and Biodiversity Nature Scotland, Sylavan House, 231 Costorphine Road, Edinburgh, EH12 7AT

Prof Willie Donachie

Executive Committee Member

Willie was managing director of Moredun Scientific between 2012 and 2014, having previously been deputy director of Moredun Research Institute for 14 years.